Christ lives in me

baptism2

One of the truth that God has revealed to me in the past few weeks in Bible college is this one: I am not striving to be a Godly woman.

As I was walking from the lecture to my room I was thinking to myself “No I am not striving to be a Godly woman.” I entered the room and closed the door behind me, I looked at myself in the mirror and thought : “I am not striving to be a Godly woman, I am striving to be like Christ.”

We have Bible verses to memorize at Bible college and one of my favourite is Galatians 2:20, do you know what it says? It says “I no longer live but Christ lives in me, the life I now live in the body I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave himself for me“. As I looked in the mirror I thought “Do I truly believe that? that I no longer live but Christ lives in me, that I am not looking at a young woman but at Jesus.”

There is an interesting passage in the gospel of Matthew in chapter 11; John the Baptist is in prison and his disciples come to see Jesus and ask him “Are you the one who is to come or should we except someone else?”  Jesus replied “Go back and report to John what you hear and see: the blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised and the good news is proclaimed to the poor.

And then Jesus turns to the crowds and with his unique preaching style asks them: “What did you go out into the wilderness to see?” He keeps on inquiring the crowd and says: “A reed swayed by the wind? No? What did you go out to see then? A man dressed in fine clothes? No, those who wear fine clothes are in kings’ palaces? Then tell me what did you go out to see?” We can imagine someone in the crowd shouting “A prophet!”, “A prophet?” Jesus asks, “Yes I tell you, and more than a prophet. This is the one about whom it is written: “I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare the way before you.

I love going to church services and listen to sermons, I love sermons and I am grateful I was born in the internet era because I don’t have to wait a week to listen to another one! But often the way a preacher speaks or the way they are dressed will put me off of what they are saying a little bit, or sometimes I will not listen the same because I know the preacher well and I know I will have lunch with them after the service, but then I go out and wonder to myself “What did I go out to see? A reed swayed by the wind? No? Then what did I go out to see? A man dressed in fine clothes? And if it was what I saw, is that what I went out to see? No, I went out to see Jesus”. I love that almost every time I go to church, no matter who is speaking, there will be a moment (and the moment is different for everyone) where I know this is not them speaking but God addressing me. I can tell you about the first sermon I ever heard. The person preaching was a French-Vietnamese man wearing a grey suit and his name was Daniel Joe, but what I cannot say is that I entered that church that day and Daniel Joe told me that there were only two roads, the road that leads to life or the road that leads to destruction, because Jesus told me that that day. What do we go out to see when we go to church? A prophet?

Jesus says of John the Baptist when questioning his crowd that thought he is the greatest prophet, even the least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he (Matt 11:11), and you know why? Because John the Baptist was announcing the coming of the Messiah, but we are announcing that he came and that he is coming back!

Jesus says in  chapter 10: “He who receives you receives Me, and he who receives Me receives the One who sent Me” (40:41) You and I are the prophets proclaiming Jesus, we are not only proclaiming Jesus with words, it is even better, we are proclaiming Jesus with Jesus himself living in us!

 

Leave a Reply

