We are living Jesus’ life

galatians-220

The other day at church an older man came to talk to me. That Sunday the talk had been particularly moving and difficult. It was a man from the organisation Tear Fund talking about his work among the enslaved orphans in Asia. This older man from my church told me that after the sermon, before taking communion he felt worthless. But he told me that when he was about to take the bread and drink the wine he was reminded that as small and seemingly insignificant as he is, he is part of Christ’s body. He shared many thoughts with me that I have written down.

“When I was going through depression, I would stay in bed all day long and one morning my wife entered the room, drew the curtains and told me “get up” and we went to a coffee shop in town. I was having a good time for the first time in a long time and now that I think of it if someone would have stopped and talked to us in that coffee shop and said how happy I looked, I would have had to say “no mate, I am living my wife’s life.”
Because that’s what my wife did that morning, she came into my room and let me live her life.
And that is what Jesus does every morning with us. We might be in our beds and think, I can’t get up, I can’t do it, but Jesus draws the curtain and says “get up, come with me today, I will make you live my life.” We are living Jesus’ life because Jesus is the life. He says it himself in John 14:6 “I am the life”.

The apostles Paul later said “I have been been crucified with Christ and I no longer lives but Christ lives in him, the life I live in the body I lives by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave himself for me.“(Galatians 2:20).
In the Old Testament in Leviticus it says that life is in the blood: “For the life of a creature is in the blood, and I have given it to you to make atonement for yourselves on the altar; it is the blood that makes atonement for one’s life.“(Leviticus 17:11)
Jesus shed his blood for us and gave his life so we would live his.
In the Gospel of John Jesus says: “Truly, truly, I tell you, unless you eat the flesh and drink the blood of the Son of Man, you have no life in you.” (John 6:53) When we share communion, we are eating the body of Christ and since Christ is living in us, we are eating our own body. We are each a part of Christ’s body and when we take communion, we take a little piece of that bread, a little piece of Christ’s body that we are part of. And when we drink his blood, we drink his life, we drink our life.
When Adam was created God said that it was not good for Adam to be alone so he put him in deep sleep and from his rib created Eve (Genesis 2). In the same way when Jesus was crucified on the cross, the roman centurion pierced his side.
The scholar Matthew Henry wrote: “Adam was a figure of him, Jesus that was to come; for out of the side of Christ, the second Adam, his spouse the church was formed, when he slept the sleep, the deep sleep, of death upon the cross, in order to which his side was opened, and there came out blood and water, blood to purchase his church and water to purify it to himself.”
We are living Jesus’ life, the live of our spouse that each morning invites us to live for him, with him, through him, to live his life.”

Leave a Reply

