Saying goodbye to 2016

Looking at the historical events of this year, one can but be astounded.
I wonder what our children and grand-children will think studying this page of history. Maybe they will ask us; “Weren’t you scared?”
Politically we used to fear our leaders, the political elites, and we know many who see conspiration theories everywhere, but now we should be fearing the people. Democratic elections have created stir in the whole world that will know shock waves for generations.
In terms of security, we used to fear the leaders too, who have the codes to the nuclear weapons, but now we fear our neighbours. This year again hundreds of people died because of “lone wolves” terrorist attacks that can happen anywhere and to anyone, as it happened notably in my country, in Nice in July and recently in Germany.
And our children will ask us “Weren’t you scared?”
Well no I wasn’t, not because I am naive or unaware of what is happening in the world but because I know, with all my faith, that God reigns. No I am not afraid, because my hope is not in the prosperity of Europe or even in world peace, my hope is in God. “Take heart”, Jesus said, “I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33).
Not to say that I am not affected by what happens in the world; when Brexit happened and anti-immigrating crimes rose significantly I was a European migrant in England. When the attacks in Nice happened I was about to go on a mission trip to Greece and once there I talked to refugees who told me they shared my grief for what was happening in my country. When the word “post-truth” entered the dictionary, I was entering Bible college and being fully convinced, by Scriptures and by the Holy Spirit, that Jesus is the Truth, that his word endures for ever and will never pass away (Mtt 24:53). And when Trump was elected President of the US, I was studying the vision of Daniel of the kingdom of God, an everlasting dominion that will not pass away, that will never be destroyed (Daniel 7:14). But I wonder how the rest of the world copes, whether people are scared or not, what do they place their hopes in? My prayer for the new year is that the uncertainty and the fear we experience right now will bring people to question in what they place their hope; financial security? political security? social security? what sort of security have they got? We can see that in the lapse of just a year, there can be groundbreaking changes, but God never changes, God is not human that he should lie, nor a human being, that he should change his mind, when he speaks he acts and when he promises he fulfills (Numbers 23:19). Jesus promised that he will come back, and he will, and we will be found in him, if only we believe, if only we have faith in Him.
I wish you a Happy New Year
May God bless you with the gift of faith

takeheart

Leave a Reply

